Ethiopian Endeavor

I am sitting in seat 38H on an Ethiopian Airline jet awaiting takeoff for what I hope to be the most dangerous endeavor I have yet to endure. Countless people are worried sick over my journey. I will be camping in the great outdoors for two weeks (which I’ve never done) in a sick and hurting nation overrun by Islam and tribal warfare. People keep asking why I’m participating in such a risky trip…”isn’t Swaziland enough?” What if you get caught? I don’t know why, but I am going with God and his plan. Does it matter if I get caught? I’m already a captive. It says so in Zechariah 9:11-12:

As for you, because of the blood of my covenant with you, I will free your prisoners from the waterless pit.  Return to your fortress, you prisoners of hope; even now I announce that I will restore twice as much to you.

No. Swaziland is not enough. Swaziland will never be enough. Africa, the southern hemisphere, you name it, will never be enough until I see that every hungry mouth is fed and every child has someone to tuck him in at night and every hand has one to hold. I am held prisoner to the hope for Africa. I’m following the example of the Israelites, and following God blindly, wherever this path might take me.

“‘And I myself will be a wall of fire around her’ declares the Lord , ‘and I will be the glory in her midst.’” Zech. 2:5

Leave a Reply

