Day 1: 4 Hours

I have been counting down to June 7, 2015 for the last 355 days, and it’s finally here.

It’s today. It’s today it’s today it’s today. My heart is nearly beating out of my chest. My bags are packed, I have my passport and my Swazi currency. My guitar is ready for the long journey ahead, so that we might worship with the mountains.
I don’t understand how a person can go to Swaziland and not experience life change, but it happens. I’ve seen it happen with many of my team members–not that it is wrong or bad or anything like that–I guess maybe what I don’t understand is how I have experienced so much life change while walking beside someone on this adventure, experiencing the same things, but walking away with totally different outcomes. There is so much Jesus in absolutely everything we see and do. One such place, and the real landmark that we’ve crossed into Swazi territory, is the mountains.
Let me explain the mountains to you: they are composed of beautiful red rock, and reflect our Lord’s handiwork in a way that is completely indescribable. Mbabane, the capital of Swaziland, is set into a valley of three mountain ranges. I can’t even count the number of pictures I have taken, trying to capture just one that do my mountains justice. Over and over in the bible, both old and new testament, are mountains used in reference to God’s power; we serve a God so great and mighty that even the mountains bow at His name; mountains can move from Point A to Point B without hesitation; a God so great and mighty that His mountains serve as an altar of worship. 
If you know me at all, you know I am NOT an outdoorsy person. I firmly believe that if God intended us to spend all of our time outdoors, He wouldn’t have given us the glorious gift of walls and roofs. These mountains, however, are astounding. You cannot look at the scenery and think that anything but God created this. These mountains make me want to fall on my face in worship and adoration at the foot of the Cross, like so many things about this trip.
Last year, upon my departure, I left these two verses as a reminder of the awesome provision the Lord gives His people:

And I will be to her a wall of fire all around,” declares the Lord, “And I will be the glory in her midst.” Zechariah 2:5
“God is within her, she will not fail.” Psalm 46:5

This is my prayer: Lord, prepare our hearts for any and all experiences we might encounter, and prepare all those we might meet along the way. Soften hearts and open minds, so that we might have the boldness to be brave on your Kingdom’s behalf. Protect us, protect our kids, protect our care pointe, protect our community. We pray for King Mswati, that he might come to know you and treat his people with the same loving kindness, mercy and grace you’ve shown us. We beg that you show up in a mighty way, one that is unmistakable to any and everyone who sees. We love you and we trust you. It is in your awesome and holy name we pray.
It’s today. It’s today it’s today it’s today.

One thought on “Day 1: 4 Hours

Leave a Reply

