Memorial Day

Today is Memorial Day, a day marked by the openings of public pools, barbecues and awesome retail sales. For most people, it is the pre-Fourth of July celebration of good old-fashioned American pride, the inaugural day of summer, and a fantastic excuse for a three day weekend.

But for some of us, Memorial Day means a lot more. I come from a military family; my dad is in the Air Force, as are/were a number of other relatives. Two of my best friends are Marines, and I strongly considered joining the Air Force myself.

I love this country. I firmly believe that this is the greatest country in the world, and that Americans are a singular group of people. I am proud to be an American. I am proud of my dad, my friends and their brothers in arms. It breaks my heart that there is a need in our world for my people to be sent overseas to fight wars, on behalf of the US and on behalf  of those in need; however, I will never apologize for being proud of the fact that my people are the ones who stepped up to fight for us.

I love them all, and as much as I want them to be here with me, I understand that there are people in this world who need my dad and my friends to be there more than I need them to be here.

Happy Memorial Day, friends. I hope you take a minute to remember, think about, pray for, acknowledge a Soldier, a Sailor, an Airmen, a Marine or a Coastguardsman in your life. I hope you do a lot more than that.

“Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for his friends.” John 15:13

2 thoughts on “Memorial Day

  1. Thanks, Jordan. I wonder if your Mom ever told you that I was privileged to serve during the Vietnam era as a US Army Airborne Special Forces communications sergeant at Fort Bragg, NC. Thanks for your nice words!

    Like

Leave a Reply

